Featured Poetry

Posted on

It’s still National Poetry Month–just about (not long left)–so here comes my new poetry post. As promised, I’ve included a short review, and a poet feature.

Echoes, by Janice T

_470671_orig

The author has a real gift with words. The neo-Victorian style–the first anthology I have read of it–is very different to both contemporary poetry and pre-twentieth century movements; archaic and occasionally modern language with both traditional and non-traditional rhyme structures.

My favourite in the collection is probably Skyline, one of the shorter poems. One of my favourite quotes is

Against the distant hills,
Soft sentries, washed with Summer’s gold.
The verdant green did swell
As if to reach beyond their hold

(From Endless Orchards)

During April, the collection is available for free from Smashwords. The author also has many other poems published on her website.

Siofra McSherry

I first discovered McSherry‘s work during my poetry module. A few are freely available to read, others are published in anthologies and magazines. Her poetry is contemporary, very lyrical with a lot of nature imagery. In terms of style, hers is not far off from my own, with an exception:

It’s more that I’m writing, and stealing things from everywhere, rather than I feel like I have to write about something in particular.

I usually need a subject to begin writing, though I can deviate from time to time.

Leave a Reply

