Review of “The Bone Knife” & Other Stuff

Posted on

Review

The Bone Knife: A Short StoryThe Bone Knife: A Short Story by Intisar Khanani
I thoroughly enjoyed The Bone Knife, and look forward to reading more by Khanani. The characters are intriguing (I love Bean) and Rae makes an excellent protagonist, for both a short story and longer fiction. Like the best fantasy, the plot is as much about the human condition as it is about the magic, and the strange relationship between Rae and the Faerie left me eager to see it explored more. Overall a well-written, enjoyable story, and a well done to the author.

View all my reviews

Writing Stuff

I have posted one of my poems, Let Them Eat Cake, to my website. I had a poetry splurge the other day but, I don’t know, I just don’t feel what I’m producing is my best work. And I am a bit of a perfectionist.

Disaster struck this week as my so-called backup system erased almost an entire chapter off my hard drive! Fortunately it was fan fiction rather than something else, but it was still a blow; I lost over 1000 words that I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to write out again, not to the same standard. At least now I know what the problem was–my hopes are pinned on the company being able to, somehow, retrieve the document. Technology hates me …

Randomness

My brony brother should now be over the moon, as a broken hard drive has driven me, out of desperation, into watching the episodes of My Little Pony he insisted on giving me (only after I had finished W.I.T.C.H). And I’m enjoying them. Now I have admitted this I can never show my face in public again …

Pin of the week

As a former English student, I get extra joy from this one.

196552009436d280e66c7240bd921b93

Leave a Reply

