Permanent Tourist (Not the Chapter)

Posted on Updated on

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Something struck me the other day. I’ve been wondering for a while whether or not I would (ever) be classed as a Londoner. In the three years I lived there I’ve become quite adept at sussing out how to get around and can spot a tourist from a mile off. When I’m back in rural Sussex (which I am now) I sorely miss the conveniences I’ve become accustomed to, such as being able to spontaneously hop on a bus, or order in Japanese (or get it at all for that matter).

However I don’t think I’ll ever be a true Londoner–part of me will always be where I grew up. It was when I decided that that the phrase ‘permanent tourist’ came to me, and I think it rings true for what I was for three years (obviously slightly stretching the definition of ‘permanent’, but if you’d asked me even a year ago I’d have told you I was going to stay in London forever–or at least try to).

Of course, I’m not really permanent any more. I wish I had thought up the expression before moving away from London. Still, should I move back one day, I will certainly adopt it.

(Anyone who’s found their way here from my fanfiction might recognise the reference.)

Link of the week: 99 life hacks, great ideas for saving money, time, energy and the environment (not necessarily in that order). Includes lots of big images.

Pin of the week you’ll enjoy even if you’re not a geek like me (I think) (needs to be enlarged to read the sign):

Source: bloglovin.com via Alex on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

