Alien Names?

Posted on Updated on

I’ve finished a short story (for my Children’s Writing module) set in my–for lack of a better term–Not Alone-verse, which is a science fiction ‘universe’. Up until now I’ve been using temporary character names (never a good idea) and have finally got around to replacing them with the final ones.

Of my two main characters in the story, I have named one, and have come up with two possibilities for the other. They are brother and sister, he is ten and she is fourteen, from a planet that today I named Kcum. (Don’t ask me why.)

I do like my character names to mean something; this can be a problem when plausibly naming aliens, though. So for the girl, Selida, I combined two Earth names (I quote from Louise Nicholson’s The Best Baby Names Book):

Salena
From the Latin, sal, ‘salt, salt water’. Used metaphorically, it means intellectual acuteness, cunning, wit and good sense. To say someone is ‘the salt of the earth’ is to praise qualities of selflessness and common sense.

Nagrida
From the Hebrew, ‘noble, aristocratic woman’

For the boy I’m torn. I picked two names:

Pias
English gypsy name, meaning ‘fun’

Poco
From the Italian, poco, ‘little’

I’ve replaced the P with J, since I wanted to keep the same first letter as his temporary name. I like both variants, and can’t decide between them. Hence, if I’ve understood correctly, underneath should be my first poll!

While on the subject of names, I should probably name the fictional universe this is set in. I’m thinking another way to describe the Milky Way. Any thoughts on that, do comment.

4 thoughts on “Alien Names?

    aharlequin responded:
    May 7, 2013 at 10:29 am

    No votes? None at all?

    I’ve gone with Joco for submission, but keeping the poll open …

    Claribel Hodgins said:
    May 13, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects? Thanks a lot!

    Maisha Fumero said:
    May 14, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Teresia Carsen said:
    May 15, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and fantastic design and style.

Leave a Reply

