Dreaming of a Pre-Christmas Word Flurry

Aside Posted on

Well, it’s nearing that time again, and I’m not talking about the apocalypse that didn’t happen (when will people learn, the end of the world cannot be calculated). I mean Christmas, and it actually feels close now, as opposed to September when decorations etc start appearing in the shops and it still feels very far away. Heavenly smells keep filling the kitchen and there’s no room to make a sandwich because of the marzipan and mince pies covering the bench.

Maybe it’s a bit late in the day to say this–although I don’t know, the number of people who leave Christmas shopping till Christmas Eve (nutters)–but, do you and others a favour this year. Shun the materialistic shallowness that’s come to be associated with this holiday. Show some love by making presents for your loved ones, or if you’re not good at that/have run out of time, do charity gifts or arrange a Secret Santa. Christmas isn’t about the highest price tag.

This morning I woke up with a view to writing something—even if just a few lines—on my novel, for only the second time since I submitted the first chapter and synopsis for class in September. Well, with all my outstanding coursework, I don’t have the opportunity often. This is sort of procrastination, and part trying to remember the rest of the rhyming line I thought up this morning while having breakfast and promptly forgotten. At present all I remember is “… all you can see …” but there was another bit, which I can’t remember if it came before or after. Hence the two ellipsis.

Right. That’s the procrastination finished with. I’m going to open up that document and write something anyway …

One thought on “Dreaming of a Pre-Christmas Word Flurry

    Wilton said:
    January 5, 2013 at 1:07 am

    I am guessing this from ahead of time that you can be a
    really famous blogger at some point! Just continue performing the
    amazing work!

Leave a Reply

